Task 6: Evaluation For Interfaces

Firstly, when I got the brief I had to think of a them for my game,  to decide on what theme I wanted I researched different driving games to see what types of themes have already been created just to give me an idea of what theme I wanted to do. The theme I eventually chose was a modern theme, I chose this because it was a theme that I was familiar with and it is a theme that I was comfortable with.

Throughout this project I did keep changing certain interfaces because I kept finding new things I could add to them, for example the speedometer, because I was learning new things all the time in Illustrator, I kept developing my ideas to get it to the best design that I could make. At first I did find it quite difficult to design the speedometer because I wasn’t quite sure what design I wanted it to be, so then I thought i’ll go for the original circular look. This is because when looking at other racing games most of the speedometers did have the circular shape. The speedometer that I created has two colours in it, orange and grey, I chose these colours because they stand out really well. In the speedometer there are two circles, one is showing what speed the gamer is at when driving the car and the other is to show each gear the car is in. The speedometer also has a nitrous bar on the outside so the gamer is able understand when and when not he can use it.

The game that inspired me the most was ‘Need For Speed Rivals’, this game inspired me because I have played it before and really enjoyed playing the game and the layout of the game was so easy to understand, therefore making it a really fun and enjoyable game to play. When playing part of the actual gameplay the interfaces on the UI  were really detailed and easy to understand, also the screen wasn’t to crowded, so therefore is was a really smooth and enjoyable game.

When creating this game and the interfaces I used a mixture of Adobe PhotoShop and Adobe Illustrator, I really enjoy using these two softwares because they are easy to understand and really simple to use. Photoshop I have used before so I was able to do most of my work and my best work on there because I was very familiar with the software. Whereas using Illustrator, I wasn’t so familiar with it so I had to learn new things on there every time I was creating something. My skills have developed throughout this assignment because there were many different skills in Photoshop and Illustrator that I did not know before that I know about now.

When creating my logos I wanted to keep them simple but eye catching. At first I wasn’t sure on what design I wanted for them, so I went on youtube and checked on different logos that had been created and how they were created. My first logo that I created has two polygons around the outside with both of them have a gradient effect on the and then in the middle is a polygon with the colour red with another gradient effect on it to make it white in the middle and red on the edges. I then added a dragon to the middle of the logo and then adding the text ‘Dragons’ at the top of the logo. My second logo that I created has a custom shape in it with a blue fill as the background and a black trim around the edge. I then have the team name ‘Pythons’ across the top with two pythons come out either end of the name, then the image for the logo is obviously a picture of a python. Thirdly, my last logo has the shape of a triangle with a purple background with a yellow trim around the outside, with the team name of ‘Vikings’ across the top and an image of a viking in the middle.

When looking at the UI there are improvements that I can make because it may look a bit plain and boring making the game unattractive, so if I focused on that a bit more then it may look a bit better and more attractive. I did just use the simple colour of black, so maybe if I used more attractive colours on the UI then it would be more appealing to the audience.

Leave a Reply

