Evaluation For My Final Poster

For this assignment I had to create a poster to advise a festival for architecture. My first job was to research a modernist poster and post modernist poster to get an idea of how they are designed and what is included in a poster so the message gets across.

To get ideas of what different poster I could make I done a few sketches in my sketch book to get a rough idea of the different designs that I could do.

The poster I had to create was for an architectural event that was happening in 2016. So I thought because it’s architecture I will get an image of an architectural building, that I would then develop for my poster. Once I found the image I wanted I then transferred that image onto Photoshop where I would edit and develop it to make it my own poster.

For this task I did have to create three posters for the same event but each poster would be different, and then I would choose what poster I think I did the best on and the one the looks the best to make as my final poster for the architectural event. For my three designs I kept with the same building but gave each poster there own different style in whether that be change of colour of giving the poster an effect.

For my posters I first started of with having all of them same and just changing the colour of each poster. Then I thought that I do need to change each one a bit just so they weren’t all just the same. For two of the poster they are just a different colour to each other but with different things on each poster. For the other poster I wanted to make it a but different from the others because I was intending to make it my final design. To make it different from the other two posters I added a blur effect to it. For this I had to draw shapes on the image, I chose to keep to one shape on the whole poster and I chose triangles to put on the poster and then used the blur effect.

For my final design I did intend to use the poster design with the blur effect, but I worked on one of the other posters a bit more and that was one I was happy with, so that was the poster which I kept developing on to make it a good poster and one that I was happy to print out as my final piece. When it was finished and I was ready to hand it in I thought that I could add a little more information onto it. I was told about negative space and that most of the poster should be covered and not left empty, so I did develop the poster a bit more so there was no negative space. I started to add a bit more information onto the poster, like what would be happening at the event, when and where it was and the contact details of the company.

Once all the development was done on all of the posters and 100% completed on my final piece, and that I was satisfied with it, I then printed it off on an a3 piece of paper and handed it in as the final design.

This is my final poster design.

Architecture Poster01copy2

Leave a Reply

